ISLE OF MAN VETERAN ATHLETES CLUB

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting Held at The Creg-Ny-Baa on Monday 28 January 2013.

Attendees:

Colin Watterson Maureen Kelly Gill Churcher **Dursley Stott** Carolyn Magee Mike Gellion Enid Watson Neil Cushing Mandine Wilson Marie Jackson Jock Waddington Ian Callister Mike Garrett Colin Moore Kevin Deakes Chris Cale Lesley Christian Moira Hall Sue Ackroyd Phil Motley Sarah Goldsmith Tadhg O'Mahoney Dawn Sissons

Apologies for absence received from:

Doug SandleMartin BellTerry BatesDoug AllanBrenda CharltonMargy KilleyPeter LeesRobbie LambieChristine BathgateLisa MotleyArnie JacobsIngrid Sugden

Simon Cox Maureen Cox Geoff Hall

Bethany de Legh-Runciman

1 Minutes

The Minutes of the previous Annual General Meeting were accepted and signed: Proposed: Gill Churcher Seconded: Sue Ackroyd.

2. Chairman's Report

The Chairman, Colin Watterson, gave his report for 2012 giving details of the club races and various achievements of club members. Thanks were given to all who have assisted the club during the year. The full report is available on the club website.

The report was accepted.

Proposed: Mo Kelly Seconded: Dursley Stott

3. Financial Statement for the past year

The Treasurer presented the accounts, which were accepted.

Proposed: Mandine Wilson Seconded: Neil Cushing

Thanks to the Auditor were recorded.

4. Officers

Gill Churcher, Mike Gellion and Christine Bathgate resigned from the committee.

The President, Chairman, Secretary and Auditor were proposed and elected en bloc, ie:

President: Dursley Stott
Chairman: Colin Watterson
Hon. Secretary Maureen Kelly
Hon. Auditor: Janet Corkish

Proposed: Gill Churcher Seconded: Sarah Goldsmith

However Colin Watterson mentioned that as he has been Chairman for over 30 years, it may be time for someone else to takeover. Any club member interested could spend some time with Colin as his understudy to learn what is involved.

Neil Cushing accepted the post of Treasurer

Proposed: Gill Churcher Seconded: Sue Ackroyd

The remainder of the committee, Lesley Christian, Mandine Wilson and Carolyn Magee were

proposed and elected en bloc:

Proposed: Gill Churcher Seconded: Sue Ackroyd

Enid Watson joined the committee:

Proposed: Mike Gellion Seconded: Sarah Goldsmith

5. Club Affiliations and Membership Fees.

The committee suggested membership fees for 2013 be increased due to UKA affiliations increasing from £5 to £10 per member. After a discussion it was agreed that subscriptions be:

First Claim £20.00 Second Claim: £10.00 Social Member: £5.00

Proposed: Moira Hall Seconded: Chris Cale

6. Any other Business

Insurance - There was a discussion regarding whether the insurance policy, costing the club £1,000.00 annually was good value for money and necessary, or whether race permits issued under ARC gives sufficient cover. The committee confirmed that the current policy, expiring in September 2013, has been renewed. In the past it has been difficult to get insurance details from UKA and ARC to enable comparisons to be made. Sue Ackroyd volunteered to endeavour to get full details from UKA and ARC.

100 Mile Walk – Jock Waddington has been asked by RWA if the club would be willing to stage another 100 mile walk in a similar vein as the successful 2006 event. The outgoing treasurer pointed out that the 2006 event involved a lot of accounting work with a small profit for the club. If the event is to go ahead, it is expected to be a big undertaking requiring a lot of sponsorship, maybe in the region of £10,000.00. After a discussion it was decided to put a time limit of the end of February to see if sponsorship can be secured before committing the club to the event. The organising sub-committee currently consists of: Jock Waddington, Steve Young, Graham Young, Chris Cale & Lisa Motley.

Website – Adrian Cowin was thanked for his work with the website. It was suggested that a more "user-friendly" website be created as the club is receiving more off-island entrants for the Marathon and End-2-End. The committee will look into costs etc for the overhaul of the website...

The meeting closed at 8.45pm and was followed by chip butties and the Prize Presentation.

Signed	Mr Colin Watterson (Chairman)
Date	